Vanden Plas – The Epic Works 1991 – 2015

VANDEN PLAS the epic works.jpg

This box set covers the bands career, including
1 Colour Temple
2 AcCult
3 The God Thing
4 Far Off Grace
5 Spirit of Live
6 Beyond Daylight
7 Christ 0
8 The Seraphic Clockwork
9 Chronicles Of The Immortals: Netherworld [Path One]
10 Chronicles Of The Immortals (Netherworld II)

Axe – Final Offering

Axe, featuring Bobby Barth, have a new album out on the 20th Sept on Escape Music. I haven’t heard anything from the band in a long time. A welcome return to my speakers.


The Defiants -Zokusho

The Defiants, featuring Paul Laine, Bruno Ravel and Rob Marcello, are to unleash more D2 style rocking upon us shortly. If this first sample is anything to go by, it will be well worth exploring.

Innuendo – ei8ht

Innuendo - eig8ht cover

Innuendo are a band that I reviewed a few times during the 2000’s and then around the mid-2000’s they disappeared off my radar for quite a few years. They then popped up in 2017 with “The Road Not Taken” and here they are again with their eighth album.

They consist of main songwriter Brett Richey who plays guitars/bass/keys together with Pat Laferty on vocals, with Tom Carr completing the lineup on drums. Brett plays in a number of gigging bands, but Innuendo is where he gets to showcase his own songs.

I remember being partial to their 2000’s albums, with ‘three’ being particularly memorable for me. Their last album was a somewhat mellow affair that it took me a few listens to get into. This time the band are giving us the short sharp shock treatment with 11 songs squeezed into 36 mins.

The band describe the music as ‘ultra-melodic, AOR, classic hard pop-rock’ and talk about the music harking back to an era when music made a statement. Their music has evolved from the acoustic hair metal/AOR of their early albums to a more mainstream retro pop-rock sound.

Neal Morse – Jesus Christ The Exorcist

Neal Morse has a new progressive musical released called ‘ Jesus Christ The Exorcist’. It seems it has been in the works for quite some time. The subject matter is pretty obvious from the title.  I have only dipped into this and further listening is definitely required. Featuring a variety of singers, it is a great way of bringing the life Jesus to the world.

Stan Bush – The 80’s

Stan Bush has a new single called the 80’s released. Yeah, all melodic rock fans hark back to the 80’s as the heyday of the genre. Needless to say, the spirit of the 80’s are evoked by this slice of nostalgia.

Eclipse – United

Eclipse have a new single out called ‘United’ ahead of a new album, ‘Paradigm’,  which scheduled for release in October. The single has been selected as the official theme for video festival Dreamhack Showdown.

I discovered these guys on the back of W.E.T. as delved into the background of the other members, having originally been attracted to W.E.T. due to Jeff Scott Soto’s involvement as lead singer.